IPL Winning Captains List | From 2008 to 2023

Many Indian and foreign players have captained the Indian Premier League and have the privilege of leading their teams in the most prestigious tournament. 

But not many people get the chance to lift the prestigious IPL trophy. In fact, only seven captains have won the IPL trophy in its 16-year history. Three of them are Indians and three are foreign players. Surprisingly, no foreign player has won the trophy more than once. 

These captains have led their teams to glory and topped the IPL betting preference charts. Let’s get into the list without much ado. 

IPL Winning Captains Details

Captain Team Titles Year
Mahendra Singh Dhoni Chennai Super Kings 5 2010, 2011, 2018, 2019, and 2023
Rohit Sharma Mumbai Indians 5 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Gautam Gambhir  Kolkata Knight Riders 2 2012 and 2014
Shane Warne Rajasthan Royals 1 2008
Adam Gilchrist Deccan Chargers  1 2009
David Warner Sunrisers Hyderabad 1 2016

Mahendra Singh Dhoni – Chennai Super Kings

Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the only player in the Indian Premier League so far to captain the same team (CSK) in all seasons of the Indian Premier League. He won five IPL titles with CSK – one each in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2019, and 2023. CSK also reached the highest number of finals in the IPL under his captaincy. Mahendra Singh Dhoni played 226 matches as CSK captain. He won 133 matches and lost 91 matches. He did not tie an IPL match. His win percentage is 59.60%, which is the highest in IPL history.

Rohit Sharma – Mumbai Indians

After Dhoni, Rohit Sharma has won the most IPL trophies (5) as a captain. He made his captaincy debut for the Mumbai Indians in 2013, replacing Ricky Ponting. The rest is history and as we know, he has held the captaincy position at MI to date. Rohit won the IPL in his debut season and became an instant fan favourite. He won the IPL trophy in every alternate season, 2013, 2015, 2017, and finally, the chain was broken when he won the IPLs in 2019 and 2020, respectively. Rohit Sharma played 158 matches as captain in the IPL. He won 87 matches, lost 67 matches, and tied four matches. That brought his win percentage down to 56.33%.

Gautam Gambhir – Kolkata Knight Riders

After Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Rohit Sharma, Gautam Gambhir is the most successful captain in the Indian Premier League. He won 2 IPL titles (2012 and 2014) as a captain of Kolkata Knight Riders and it was under his captaincy that KKR reached its peak. However, he made his captaincy debut with Delhi Daredevils in 2009 and He moved to KKR in 2011. Gautam Gambhir played 129 matches as captain in the Indian Premier League. He won 71 matches, lost 57 matches and tied 1 match. His success rate was 55.42%.

Shane Warne – Rajasthan Royals

Shane Warne captained Rajasthan Royals to win the first edition of the Indian Premier League. He captained Rajasthan for three seasons 2008 and 2011 and is one of the legendary players to have captained an IPL team. He played 55 matches as the captain of Rajasthan Royals in the Indian Premier League. He won 30 matches, lost 24 matches and tied 1 match. His winning percentage is 55.45%.

Adam Gilchrist – Deccan Chargers

Adam Gilchrist has captained two different IPL teams, Deccan Chargers and Kings XI Punjab. He managed to win the IPL trophy with Deccan Chargers in 2009 but failed to repeat this feat with Punjab. He made his captaincy debut for Deccan Chargers in 2008 and played his last match as captain for Kings XI Punjab in 2013 in the IPL. He played 74 matches in IPL as a captain.

David Warner – Sunrisers Hyderabad

David Warner started his IPL career as a player for Delhi Daredevils, but after he moved to Sunrisers Hyderabad, he was appointed as their captain. And he was very successful in his captaincy career there. He made his captaincy debut in 2013 and was dropped from the captaincy by SRH management in 2021 before being dropped from the team. He captained SRH to win the 2016 IPL and also reached the final of the 2018 IPL. He played 69 matches as captain in IPL.

Final Thoughts on IPL Winning Captains List 

Through this article, you have learned about the most successful captains in the Indian Premier League. It is a matter of pride that Indian cricketers Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Rohit Sharma are in the first two positions. Also, let’s wish the 2024 IPL trophy to be won by a team captained by an Indian cricketer.

Leave a Comment